It was a storybook day for Ankeny High School, which proved to be the first Iowa team in our 40-year history to advance to the finals. First they defeated Parkland (PA) on the last question, 305-300. Then they upset No. 1 seed Somers (NY) on the last question, 265-260. Then they won out over Jenks (OK) 335-330 … in overtime! to advance to the title game. In the meantime, Fort Smith Southside defeated Saratoga Springs (NY) 295-220 and won handily over University of Detroit Jesuit (MI), 375-225.

The highlight of the championship game was a rare double-sweep in the 70 Seconds Round: Ankeny on NAME THAT HISTORICAL FIGURE followed by Southside on the Mystery Category, STARTS WITH D. Southside triumphed in the end, 300-250.

Fort Smith Southside

Top Row (l to r): Sam Pritchard, Jordan Kennedy, Zain Rana, Vincente Otero, Tzideny Romero, Isabel Nuno, Dipa Patel
Bottom Row (l to r): Josh Adams (Head Coach), Walter Woodie (Asst. Coach), Jackson Austin, Andrea Ortega

Shopping Cart